Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Software Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Sep 2011, 12:49 PM   #51 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 14,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post

Seems like this might be a keeper after all.
Yup. All that's needed now is a version for Linux
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Sep 2011, 01:01 PM   #52 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 14,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Yup. All that's needed now is a version for Linux
Baby steps MC, baby steps
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2011, 07:49 AM   #53 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 14,739
Default

Interesting point about the WPS Update task Deya. Last night, I installed Kingsoft Office in a virtual environment to try it out, and indeed I found the WPS thing in the scheduled tasks.

I forgot to check other things though, and I intend to check it out again in virtual environment. I forgot to move the clock ahead, and check if the Office continued to work. I also did not get in mind that time, to upload the wsupdate to VirusTotal, and see what happened. So, next time, I will check further.

I have a doubt, with such kind of a scheduled update task, whether, it will update the program by itself, to a shareware version, or to the 2013 version, once it comes out. That is quite a possibility IMO.

Anyways, by the look and interface of it, the programs looks quite good to me, and almost similar to MS Office.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Sep 2011, 11:13 AM   #54 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,197
Default

I've uploaded wpsupdate.exe to VirusTotal, Anupam. It's clean - 0/43. I have Kingsoft Office on two machines, on one [virtual] I've left the updater alone, it shows in the scheduled tasks but I've not noticed any problems with it. It's set to run once every hour.

On the other machine I've deleted wpsupdate, as described earlier, but it doeasn't affect the program. Everything still works - put the clock forward to several years but the office suite still functions correctly, no lock outs or anything. So I don't think it's a problem, let it run, or delete it.

Lots of programs check for updates at start up or whatever, browsers etc. So I'm thinking that wpsupdate just does that, I don't think it's anything sinister. But, if you're unsure, just delete the updater. You'll still be able to use 2012 for as long as you want to, if you don't want 2013, updates etc, or, if there is an update, you could always do it manually.

I've installed and un installed Kingsoft many times now [using Revo] and it does it clean enough. So all you need do is save the set-up exe for future use if required. I can understand your lingering suspicion because of the previous issues we've had, I've been the same. Kingsoft could, and should, have made this a lot easier from the start. But I think they've done their best to correct that now, at least it certainly appears to be that way. So I've decided to just free my mind and get on with using what is a very good, up to date office suite.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2011, 08:53 AM   #55 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 14,739
Default

Thanks Deya, all this is very helpful, and its appreciated.

I still do have a lingering doubt, maybe because of what happened. Oh well

Well, the news is that Kingsoft have now released separate applications for spreadsheet, and presentations as well. Earlier, separate application for only the writer was available.

Also, I saw on MajorGeeks, that a new version of Kingsoft Office Free was available.. its 8.1.1.2942, whereas earlier version was 8.1.0.2942.

So, I think the wsupdate exe is for that purpose, to update to the new versions automatically.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2011, 02:50 PM   #56 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, just been looking for some free ware office suites such as these. Seen OpenOffice, etc. I came across your thread and brilliant website and was intrigued by this topic.

My Microsoft Word won't work on my other computer, it has some type of fault or something, I can't be bothered to figure it all out, as it could mean I have to re-install Windows 7.

I have seen this topic and I am looking at downloading this, I have a few queries though. I am 15, obviously still in school and so this will be extremely important to my education. The school computers use Microsoft Word, just say I wrote an assignment up in KingSoft could I open the file at school if I transported it there utilizing my USB?

Much thanks before-hand.
RenderedUnsafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2011, 06:11 PM   #57 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 14,739
Default

Welcome to the forum RenderedUnsafe .

Yes, if you save a document in writer in Kingsoft, you can use it on MS Word. Only thing is you should take care, that the format you save in, should be the format that MS Word uses, like .doc, .docx, .rtf etc. Best would be to save as .rtf.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2011, 10:44 PM   #58 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Alright, thanks for that. The suite looks ideal. Anyone got more reviews on it?
RenderedUnsafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2011, 10:25 PM   #59 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Hi is there a portable version ?
It is not compatible with open office file is that correct ?
Ratzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Oct 2011, 09:24 AM   #60 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 14,729
Default

Kingsoft have now acknowledged my PM (after almost a month ), but slow is always better than never P

As soon as the promised contact is made I'll ask them to respond to the outstanding queries in this thread. After this, some of you may wish to add others.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.