Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:05 AM   #141 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,581
Default

Go to
Sandbox Settings>Applications>Email Reader
and select Outlook.

That should do it. Now, right click on Outlook and select to run sandboxed
in the Default sandbox. If it does not run, Sandboxie will give a message
about whats starting but can not run or why it can not run. Think of this
messages as information, not errors. Thats how I see them.

You can always do the test "Is window sandboxed?" or open Sandboxie
control and see what processes are sandboxed to make sure Outlook,
Firefox or whatever program is actually being sandboxed. If you don't
see the process in there, then its not sandboxed.
Read "Appearance"in sandbox settings, it gives you a choice on what to
appear in the top part of the window of the sandboxed program in order
for you to know when the program is sandboxed.

Get Outlook running sandboxed and let me know. All you have to do is
enable the Outlook setting.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:08 AM   #142 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post

Could you still tell me how to make sure that I am running Outlook in Sandoxie?
Try what I said on my previous post, it should work.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:13 AM   #143 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,155
Default

Duh! I'm an i-d-i-o-t! I got it working just fine. Now, when I open a link in an email, it opens in a Sandboxed browser. Also, any attachments that I open (for example, Exel or Word documents) now open in the Sandbox.

The "Duh" is for the fact that I've been using a quick launch bar/taskbar icon to open up Outlook. I created that quick launch icon years ago; long before I installed Sandboxie. I just found/realized that I can launch Outlook (my email reader) from the Sandboxie icon in my taskbar. I never thought to right-click my Sandboxie icon, left click "Default Sandbox" and then click on "Run Email Reader".

Why I never thought of that I can't tell you.... It makes all the sense in the world now....


P.S. My next learning curve is how/why to set up different Sandboxes. I only use the Default Sandbox right now and I pretty much only use it for browsing and now email.

P.S.S. Sorry for the confusion Bo.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:32 AM   #144 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,581
Default

Nice, so you had it configured alright, you just did not know how to run
Outlook sandboxed. You can also run Outlook sandboxed if you right
click on the Outlook icon in your desktop or taskbar and click run sand
boxed.

Another thing you can do is create a "sandboxed Outlook shortcut" on
your desktop or taskbar, that way when you click on it, Outlook will
open in the sandbox automatically.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?ConfigureMenu#shell

About using multiple sandboxes, I am using 14 at this time.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:44 AM   #145 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,581
Default

Since the time that you installed SBIE, there has been at least one stable
release, 3.58. If you have not updated, you should do it now. Doing an
over the top, is how I always get it done.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?AllVersions

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 04:53 PM   #146 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 990
Default

kendall,
bear in mind that with the free version of Sandboxie you don't have the option of forcing programs, such as your browser, to automatically open in a sandbox as you can in the paid version.
Having said that, if you click on a link in your email program (or any other program for that matter) that is currently running in a sandbox then the browser will also open in that same sandbox.

The free version allows you to create multiple sandboxes but only allows you to have one sandbox running at any one time.
The main benefits of having multiple sandboxes is that each can be configured differently depending on what you want to run inside it, and under what restrictions, or if you want things to persist between sessions (such as a program you want to install and use only from within a sandbox for example).
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 07:39 PM   #147 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,581
Default

Separating programs in their own sandbox and configuring each, as described
by Sope, makes isolation/sandboxing work better.
Using more than one sandbox is how you get the most out of SBIE.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Sep 2011, 08:04 PM   #148 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,155
Default

I'd like to suggest that one of you post a tutorial on how to do this with the freeware version. It would extremely helpful! Maybe an article on the main site?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Sep 2011, 02:19 PM   #149 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 13,430
Default

Well, finally, I have started using Sandboxie . I wanted to use it after I read about how to use it. So, it was a matter of doing just that. But, it got delayed due to my habit of procrastination. But, now, I read up on it, went through its help, and ready to start using it.

The usage is not all that difficult.

I had been feeling the need of Sandboxie since long, because as a moderator, often I have to open links and sites that are unknown. With several sites being compromised, its quite easy to catch a malware. Further, with Avast uninstalled on one of my hard disks, I feel unsafe without its web shield. This is another reason for taking up Sandboxie.

Now, I feel safe and confident on using Sandboxie, that even if I visit a malicious site, my computer won't be infected. So, even without a web shield, it will be fine.

I have read its help topics, so hopefully, I wont have any newbie questions. I will be interested however, in hardening the Sandboxie. I will read up on the threads where this has been discussed. If I still have a doubt, I will ask.

At this time, I have question that, can we install a software using Sandboxie to see how it works? If yes, how will that work. Everything installed will be inside Sandboxie, and once the contents are cleared, its gone?

Also, once its installed, if I click on its icon to start it, will it be sandboxed, or I will have to open it sandboxed again?

So, I think the question is, how to install, and use it at the same time with the free version of Sandboxie.

If it can be done, that would be so cool. No need to even restart the system . I have been using Wondershare TimeFreeze free to test out software. But, having to restart after that is a bit time taking. If Sandboxie will work without a restart, that would be awesome .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Sep 2011, 02:43 PM   #150 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I'd like to suggest that one of you post a tutorial on how to do this with the freeware version. It would extremely helpful! Maybe an article on the main site?
Since Anupam is on it, suggest this is a good chance for his Article No. 2.
Jojo Yee is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2