Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16. Jul 2011, 06:26 AM   #101 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,549
Default

Free Avast and Sandboxie its more than enough.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 02:07 PM   #102 (permalink)
Moderator
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,457
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
For example, I'm only using the default Sandbox. I'm not sure how to set up another one or even if I need to.
Saandboxie control/ Sandbox dropdown/ Create new sandbox.
__________________
Pen > Sword. That is all. ^.^
garth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2011, 04:07 PM   #103 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi guys,

Do I understand it correctly that, with the free version, you can't run more than one sandboxes (lets say Firefox & Thunderbird each in its own sandbox) at a time? But if I have more than one programs in the same sandbox, it's ok to run the programs at the same time?
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2011, 05:44 PM   #104 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Hi guys,

Do I understand it correctly that, with the free version, you can't run more than one sandboxes (lets say Firefox & Thunderbird each in its own sandbox) at a time? But if I have more than one programs in the same sandbox, it's ok to run the programs at the same time?
You are correct. Maybe, you ll like to have a sandbox were only (all) browsers
and TB are allowed to do anything (start/run-Internet access) but everything
else is restricted. On this sandbox you could add your PDF Reader, if you open
it out of the browser, and will still be a pretty solid/restricted sandbox.

Having multiple sandboxes at the same time is one of the features that you
get on the registered version.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Jul 2011, 05:03 PM   #105 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,144
Default

Ok. I am getting used to Sandboxie. I'm not sure that I totally understand it yet, however. I do have a question that I hope I can phrase properly or understandably.

If you use your desktop email program (like Thunderbird or Outlook) Sandboxed, what happens when you move emails to folders within your email program? When you exit the email program, will they still be there since the program is Sandboxed?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Jul 2011, 05:38 PM   #106 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
Ok. I am getting used to Sandboxie. I'm not sure that I totally understand it yet, however. I do have a question that I hope I can phrase properly or understandably.

If you use your desktop email program (like Thunderbird or Outlook) Sandboxed, what happens when you move emails to folders within your email program? When you exit the email program, will they still be there since the program is Sandboxed?
When you applied Sandbox Settings> Applications> E Mail readers>OE,
it configures SBIE to save your emails in your system.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?A...Settings#email
Test it by sending a email to yourself, if its properly configured, the email
will remain even after the sandbox has been deleted.
I run and use OE as I did before I started to use Sandboxie. By using SBIE
when you open an email or a file(if its allowed to run in this sandbox),
changes will be gone when you delete the sandbox but not the emails.
This link explains pretty good what SBIE does with files and infected files.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?EmailProtection

Kendall, you can use OE as you did before, the difference now is that it
is running under Sandboxies protection. Huge difference.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Jul 2011, 06:07 PM   #107 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,144
Default

I assume that the same applies to Outlook as it applies to Outlook Express?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Jul 2011, 06:33 PM   #108 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I assume that the same applies to Outlook as it applies to Outlook Express?
Yes, send yourself an email and see what happens. IF Outlook is not
properly setup, Sandboxie will issue SBIE message 2212 letting you
know.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?SBIE2212

Keep in mind that when you are running a program sandboxed, it is the
real program that's running, not a copy or clone.
Whats trapped inside the sandbox are the changes and when you
configure your email client properly, you are excluding the emails
themselves from remaining in the sandbox, so they wont get lost
when the sandbox gets deleted.

Bo
bo.elam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jul 2011, 05:25 AM   #109 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,144
Default

Quote:
Quote: Originally Posted by tushR
Other that nag screen is there any real advantage to pay for sandboxie? In the developers site the details were not very clear for me...i guess its just no nag screen and auto sandbox some programs...please suggest if its worth paying for it (may be u can just pm me)? It's quiet expensive in India.

I ll send you a PM with my opinion.

Bo
Bo, could you find that PM and forward it to me? Thanks.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Jul 2011, 05:29 AM   #110 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,144
Default

Quote:
About using more than one sandbox, the answer is yes, you should create
sandboxes for different programs because that way you can restrict the
sandbox depending on the program. For example, on my Foxit sandbox,
only Foxit is allow to start and run and no program is allowed to connect
to the internet. The only time that Foxit ever connects to the internet in'
my computer is when I update the program. Updating is also the only time
that Foxit is ever run out of the sandbox in my computer.
I've only been using Sandbox for a week or so, but I'm having a hard time understanding why I need more than one Sandbox? Right now, I have my email client sandboxed and my browser sandboxed. I haven't had to open any pdf files from within my browser, but I'm assuming that if I do, it will automatically be sandboxed since my browser is. Is that not correct?

I also haven't tried running a flash program (Youtube perhaps?) from within my browser, but again I'm assuming that if I open a flash program from within my sandboxed browser that it will automatically be sandboxed? Again, am I mistaken?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2