Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Jul 2011, 06:16 PM   #91 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,150
Default

Actually, Opera appeared the most impacted.

What I'll do tonight then, is reboot my computer and try it again. My connection also might be affected by the fact that I just found out that my son has been downloading a 48 GB (yes, GB) game over the past 2 days.....

I'll also do the software compatibility thing.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2011, 07:41 PM   #92 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
What I'll do tonight then, is reboot my computer and try it again. My connection also might be affected by the fact that I just found out that my son has been downloading a 48 GB (yes, GB) game over the past 2 days.....
That sound a likely culprit to me!

I'm intrigued to know what game is 48GB in size though
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2011, 08:35 PM   #93 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,150
Default

Some new online Star Wars RPG in Beta. It's supposed to be incredible.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2011, 09:04 PM   #94 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
Some new online Star Wars RPG in Beta. It's supposed to be incredible.
Hmm....
I'll have to look into that one,
cheers.
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2011, 09:37 PM   #95 (permalink)
Moderator
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
Hmm....
I'll have to look into that one,
cheers.
Same here. Kendall could you please get a link for this off your son?
__________________
Pen > Sword. That is all. ^.^
garth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 02:18 AM   #96 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,150
Default

He yelled at me for even mentioning it, actually. He supposedly signed some type of non-disclosure agreement when they signed him up for the beta. He's not supposed to share the info.

I do know that you could Google "new star wars rpg beta" or something similar and you might find it.....
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 03:28 AM   #97 (permalink)
Moderator
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,460
Default

Sorry to hear you got yelled at but thanks anyway Kendall. I'll have a look for that later
__________________
Pen > Sword. That is all. ^.^
garth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 04:59 AM   #98 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,150
Default

Just to report, I rebooted and did what bo suggested. I also believe that my son's download is finally over. Regardless, whatever the reason, Opera sandboxed is much quicker and responsive than it was last night. Does it open still slowly or slower, yes. But, I can live with that. The browsing is much better tonight.

Thanks all for your assistance.

I still have a lot to learn about Sandboxie. For example, I'm only using the default Sandbox. I'm not sure how to set up another one or even if I need to.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 05:37 AM   #99 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
Just to report, I rebooted and did what bo suggested. I also believe that my son's download is finally over. Regardless, whatever the reason, Opera sandboxed is much quicker and responsive than it was last night. Does it open still slowly or slower, yes. But, I can live with that. The browsing is much better tonight.

Thanks all for your assistance.

I still have a lot to learn about Sandboxie. For example, I'm only using the default Sandbox. I'm not sure how to set up another one or even if I need to.
Nice to hear that its better now. Cold starts are always a little slower than
unsandboxed but the slight difference is very little and worth enduring. You
should also keep in mind that the reminder screen stays for 5 seconds so
that also makes it feel slower.

I recommend you slowly start making changes, you don't need to learn all
there is to learn about SBIE in one day. Learn the settings that come on
default, as you have them now, so you know how your browsers and other
programs behave in a default sandbox.
As you go, you ll start to use the restrictions to make the sandbox tighter,
hardened and more secure. Nothing will escape a hardened sandbox.

About using more than one sandbox, the answer is yes, you should create
sandboxes for different programs because that way you can restrict the
sandbox depending on the program. For example, on my Foxit sandbox,
only Foxit is allow to start and run and no program is allowed to connect
to the internet. The only time that Foxit ever connects to the internet in'
my computer is when I update the program. Updating is also the only time
that Foxit is ever run out of the sandbox in my computer.

Kendall, Is your father in law also trying SBIE?

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2011, 06:17 AM   #100 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,150
Default

Yes, he is trying it out. I'm not sure how much luck he is having with it since I haven't talked to him in 2 days.

He's a diehard commercial Avast Internet Security suite fan. But, he had some issues and so he ordered a new version off of Amazon. He's without an AV right now (waiting for his new software to arrive) so I told him the he HAS to use Sandboxie if he wants to do any web browsing.

I pointed him to your recommended Youtube videos and told him to go for it. I'll check in with him tomorrow. My hope is to convince him he can go with a free AV at the very least if he's using Sandboxie.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2