Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Nov 2009, 08:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,036
Default

OK OK
You have made your point and Yes I agree.They screwed up!

In general the security software industry is scrambling in every direction to try to market and sell their products. Competition is huge making strategies more and more creative (cough cough) If they break the rules they should be made to pay. I believe in redemption. Time will tell if how Iobit handles this issue. Bottom line I still liked a couple of their products. Smart defrag has been doing a great job and I have no plans as of yet to get rid of it.

The current version of Iobit 360 is v1.30 Forum:http[COLON]//forums[DOT]iobit[DOT]com/forumdisplay.php?f=20.

PS I too have paid for security software but as an exception not as a rule
Cheers
Wdhpr



Moderator's Comments : Please do not post links to direct exe or setups. We do not allow that. IObit link has been edited, because the site has now got a yellow rating on WOT.

Last edited by Anupam; 15. Nov 2009 at 09:31 PM. Reason: Edited links
wdhpr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2009, 09:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Abandoned
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
PS I too have paid for security software but as an exception not as a rule
Cheers
Wdhpr
Same here. I had been running MSE and thought about trying Avast 5 once the final was released and was really wanting to keep a free av, but Prevx is just so lite that it was just too enticing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2009, 10:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,036
Default Take a second and breath

Jeez

Maybe Iobits site is yellow

I DID NOT LINK IOBITS download SITE. However I guess the forum site was yellow.... my bad
The download site is green: wikisend.com Check it out yourself

The Latest Declaration from IObit
We have received a large number of feedback and suggestions from Internet users since IObit Security 360 v1.0 was released on September 7, 2009 Ya think. And we also paid special attention to questions regarding the old database of IObit Security 360 among the feedback. Due to the serious flaws and defects of our sample submission system and management, the old database includes malware names from non-IObit data sources. We are willing to face all of the problems and take responsibility for the disputes.Now ya been caught
You have allot of splaining to do

We have apologized for all the inconvenience, meanwhile, we have taken immediate actions to remove all disputed data and updated the whole database online on November 3. We also have finished the second complete update of IObit Security 360 on Sunday (2009-11-08, at noon) since it was formally released – IObit Security 360 v1.20.

The existing database is collected from hundreds of thousands of malware samples in abundant database accumulated by IObit within 5 years. We welcome more useful feedback and strict supervision for the updated version of IObit Security 360 from users and other vendors. Eventually, IObit would like to work with all anti-malware vendors, to enhance the overall evolution of malware detection and removal, make breakthrough in software functions, and work constantly to provide users with more and better user experience by contributing a long-term, practical and substantive work.

IMO there has been allot of self righteousness. Looks as though everyone has gotten their pound of flesh

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 15. Nov 2009 at 11:27 PM. Reason: Ok Im done editing this post :)
wdhpr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Nov 2009, 08:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
I DID NOT LINK IOBITS download SITE. However I guess the forum site was yellow.... my bad
The download site is green: wikisend.com Check it out yourself
If you read carefully, I have written : please do not link to direct exe/setups. This is also a rule(no. 14) in our Forum Guidelines :
http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...uidelines.html

Anyways, I don't see the need to point to IObit Security download page, or site. Anyone can go to IObit's site, if they wanted to download it. The download is available on MajorGeeks too... because they have made changes to the database now.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Nov 2009, 04:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,036
Default

Quote:
No direct links to executable files are allowed in the Forum. Please link to the page the file is referenced on
Quote:
f you read carefully, I have written : please do not link to direct exe/setups. This is also a rule(no. 14) in our Forum Guidelines :
Forum Guidelines
Maybe I'm missing something. The link I posted took you to the site where the software could be downloaded. However the download did not begin automatically. I can point to dozens of instances where links posted on this forum take you to the page where software can be downloaded
Panda Cloudbased Free Antiviurs Dont take my word for it look for yourself. This is just one of many.

I plead guilty to linking to the forum which has a yellow wot rating. That appears not to be good enough for you. Anyway you win. I am done with the whole subject.
Iobit software is bad bad bad and I do respect the forums decision to rid itself of any refrence or links to iobits software.

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 16. Nov 2009 at 04:46 PM.
wdhpr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Nov 2009, 05:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,187
Default

Please do not take this personally. We are just doing our job as moderators.

This is the link which you posted. I am not posting the full link, for obvious reasons.

download/855940/is360freesetup[DOT]exe

You will see that the link ends with an exe extension. From looking at the link, anyone will think that this is a direct link to the exe. I admit I did not check on the link that time. The link leads to a file sharing site with the download file. But, you will admit, from the first look, it looks like a link to an exe file. That's why I removed it. Anyways, these types of links will be removed, as these are not good for the forum... because although they lead to a page with the download, but they look like direct link to file.

After the IObit incident, and when their site got a yellow rating on WOT, we had to edit all the links of IObit site... on the main site as well as on the forum... recent or past links... all of them... because having those links on our site can have bad implications for our site.

So, because of these reasons, I had to edit your post. Am saying again, do not take this personally.

Thanks for your co-operation.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Nov 2009, 01:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,036
Default

I see your point. You have been doing a good job Anupam in keeping this forum on the straight and narrow.

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Nov 2009, 02:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,187
Default

Thanks a lot for your kind appreciation, and for understanding .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0