Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30. Jul 2009, 06:48 PM   #51 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Hi Peter, these readings are normal now.
Those figures for RAM usage are disappointing.
If I'm not mistaken Comodo Firewall with Defense+ only uses maybe half that on my system.

Coincidently I've just chosen to uninstall Comodo (v3.8) because for some reason it got upset when handling rules requests for a small app I was running sandboxed. In the process it seemed to corrupt all my rules, as Comodo began flagging up everything I tried to use on my PC and was a nightmare when everything started loading after I tried a restart!

I'm now trying to decide whether to install the latest version of Comodo (v3.10) or give Privatefirewall a go?
Or even, dare I say it, see how I go just with my hardware firewall, WinXP firewall, Avast, Opera and my intuition (no prizes for guessing which one of those is the weakest link! )
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2009, 07:08 PM   #52 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Default

If you want to uninstall Privatfirewall is adviced to use their 'Privatefirewall Removal Tool', after uninstall it with their own uninstaller.

In fact it leaves unneeded leftovers.

I installed it with ZSoft Uninstaller, doing a analized log'installation.

Used Revo to uninstall firstly; ZSoft analized log after and ZSoft found many leftovers indeed.

If you don't use ZSoft Uninstaller, you can use PF Removal Tool.
majoMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2009, 09:05 PM   #53 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
Those figures for RAM usage are disappointing.
If I'm not mistaken Comodo Firewall with Defense+ only uses maybe half that on my system.
I can understand that they're disappointing, being larger, but still the difference would mean nothing in performance terms, certainly on most modern machines.

Privatefirewall certainly gives you a lot less feature wise than the new version of Comodo but then again it's much easier to configure so a lot of people would be able to get more from it.

Like garbanzo pointed out yesterday the GUI is beginning to show it's age now which might put some people off. I guess the thing to do is to try it and see how you get on.

The upside of the leftovers at uninstall is that should you re-install in the future it will automatically remember all of your settings and custom rules. I've heard no instances of these leftovers causing problems with other firewall installations unless someone else knows differently.

I'm still waiting for PWI to get back to me because this version is causing a minor log conflict with my USB modem. That said it's not much good if I can only see the incoming traffic so I may even end up back with Comodo myself I did run the latest version for a couple of days after receiving an email from Melih but the AV still has some issues so I removed it. I think though for anyone just running the firewall and Defense+ combination you could hardly find better. It certainly reacted more "crisply" on my system than 3.9. If I put it back I will leave my Avira and A2 where they are and not install the CIS AV. This also means not having the recently integrated BOClean component which I believe is part of the AV module as opposed to CMF which is part of Defense+. Still, the rest of it would be more than adequate for my needs.
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2009, 09:52 PM   #54 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 979
Default

All things considered, the noticeably lower RAM usage, the extra security such as CMF, and even the looks of the GUI etc. that Comodo has over Privatefirewall I'm inclined towards installing Comodo v3.10

I'm also encouraged by your comment MC -
"It certainly reacted more "crisply" on my system than 3.9"

I'm afraid the previous installation of Comodo had been running on my system for so long that I'll no doubt have to re-learn the setup all over again which is a bit of a pain.
I won't install the CIS AV component either as I'm happy with Avast for now.

(Out of interest I may yet consider trying Privatefirewall first but I'm put off by the possibility of a messy uninstall - I've had enough of these to deal with in the past ).
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jul 2009, 02:56 AM   #55 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wolfstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
I can understand that they're disappointing, being larger, but still the difference would mean nothing in performance terms, certainly on most modern machines.

Privatefirewall certainly gives you a lot less feature wise than the new version of Comodo but then again it's much easier to configure so a lot of people would be able to get more from it.

Like garbanzo pointed out yesterday the GUI is beginning to show it's age now which might put some people off. I guess the thing to do is to try it and see how you get on.

The upside of the leftovers at uninstall is that should you re-install in the future it will automatically remember all of your settings and custom rules. I've heard no instances of these leftovers causing problems with other firewall installations unless someone else knows differently.

I'm still waiting for PWI to get back to me because this version is causing a minor log conflict with my USB modem. That said it's not much good if I can only see the incoming traffic so I may even end up back with Comodo myself I did run the latest version for a couple of days after receiving an email from Melih but the AV still has some issues so I removed it. I think though for anyone just running the firewall and Defense+ combination you could hardly find better. It certainly reacted more "crisply" on my system than 3.9. If I put it back I will leave my Avira and A2 where they are and not install the CIS AV. This also means not having the recently integrated BOClean component which I believe is part of the AV module as opposed to CMF which is part of Defense+. Still, the rest of it would be more than adequate for my needs.
Think I might be be doing the same think MC.... back to CIS just using the firewall version with avast. Right now though am running online armor free version and it seems to run nice and crisp and works well with avast. Notice it collects a lot of BAK files though in program files........
wolfstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jul 2009, 08:23 PM   #56 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
I won't install the CIS AV component either as I'm happy with Avast for now.(Out of interest I may yet consider trying Privatefirewall first but I'm put off by the possibility of a messy uninstall - I've had enough of these to deal with in the past ).
From what I read in your post I would skip Privatefirewall and go straight to Comodo. I say this because I think you will be more happy with the CIS solution and if you have doubts about Privatefirewall to start with this won't fill you with much confidence in using it.

Your right about the AV. Stick with Avast because CIS although greatly improved in detection is still giving quite a few people system problems. The bug reports for the firewall and Defense+ components on the other hand are minimal and nothing Earth shattering anyway.

At install (apart from not selecting the AV) beware the checked settings by default for the HopSurf toolbar and other rubbish which need clearing. Also, if you are certain your machine is malware free don't opt to do the system scan during the install process otherwise it will download all of the antivirus signatures to do this (which takes ages) even though the AV was not selected.

There are a few other settings such as choosing the level of protection and stuff like ARP cache monitoring and I'm not exactly sure how these differ from the version you've got. I'm sure you'll work it out though.
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jul 2009, 10:31 PM   #57 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
The bug reports for the firewall and Defense+ components on the other hand are minimal and nothing Earth shattering anyway.

At install (apart from not selecting the AV) beware the checked settings by default for the HopSurf toolbar and other rubbish which need clearing. Also, if you are certain your machine is malware free don't opt to do the system scan during the install process otherwise it will download all of the antivirus signatures to do this (which takes ages) even though the AV was not selected.
Useful advice - thanks MC.
Sope is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2009, 09:38 PM   #58 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Talking Great so far

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I'd be interested in others who may switch from PC Tools firewall to this OR people who use this firewall with Avast.
I am using avast and switched to privatefirewall 6.1 and this firewall is very good, so far no problem. I will keep this if all stays well, best free firewall i have ever used. ok
gmanman22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Aug 2009, 08:27 PM   #59 (permalink)
WES
Full Member
 
WES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Viribus Unitis
Posts: 99
Default

Dunno, right now I am testing Vipre+privatefirefall+defensewall on the guest machine in VMware, when the thing expires I will probably retest the damn thing for an unlimited amout of time. On the host machine Online Armor 3.5 and NAV 2009. All looks damn fast for the time being, hope it stays that way for a looong time.
:-)
WES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Sep 2009, 07:42 PM   #60 (permalink)
Ame
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

At the moment, I am using the Windows XP firewall and am on a wireless connection behind a router. I did give Outpost Free a very brief try, but it had a bug, so I uninstalled it. It was a very minor bug, however, and one I probably wouldn't have had to deal with in normal, day-to-day operation. I gave the PCTools Firewall a try as well, over several days. It also has its problems and I ended up uninstalling that as well. I really don't want to be doing this anymore!

I've been considering Privatefirewall, but I have a question about its settings. This is for a laptop which is on a home network to a desktop, and both computers are behind a router. The laptop accesses the internet by a wireless connection to the router, which is hooked up by ethernet cable to a modem. The desktop has an ethernet connection to the router and accesses the internet that way. The laptop shares a printer and files with the desktop. I also have AVG Free AV installed, as well as the paid for version of Malwarebytes, which runs all the time. I use SuperAntispyware as an on-demand scanner. The laptop is running Windows XP Pro SP2.

We want to take the laptop with us when we travel, so I anticipate an online connection maybe with an ethernet cable in a hotel room or a wireless connection at wi-fi hotspots or something like that. (I don't really know how that works, as I've never taken the laptop 'on the road' before.)

If I were using Privatefirewall, what would be the best profiles for each location? For example, would I choose the Home profile when the laptop is at home on its home network and behind a router, with Internet set to 'high' and Network Security set to 'low' to allow the file and printer sharing? What about when the laptop is elsewhere then? Would I choose the Remote profile with both Internet and Network Security set to 'high'? Or would I also choose the Home profile and just have both Internet and Network Security set to 'high'?
Ame is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2