Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. May 2011, 10:30 AM   #101 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,967
Default

With the announcement of what looks like a major upgrade for SRWareIron, I mailed Netgate today to see they will be updating BlackHawk too and if so what the time scale is likely to be.
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 11:59 AM   #102 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,967
Default

Response from Netgate is that they would like to synchronize this but it will be difficult because they've already made so many changes to create BlackHawk, and there is no source available for Iron.
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 03:46 PM   #103 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Sorry, you're out of luck because I agree with you

For me it makes sense to use the latest OS but everything you say is true.

MC, I meant you could blaze the trail forward with Win 7. It does make sense to upgrade to the latest OS. I may do that with the Vista laptop, but not until there's at least 4 or 5 service packs out there for Win 7. Or, I may take the laptop over to the dark side and install Mint. It's feels good to have choices.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 04:30 PM   #104 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
MC, I meant you could blaze the trail forward with Win 7. It does make sense to upgrade to the latest OS. I may do that with the Vista laptop, but not until there's at least 4 or 5 service packs out there for Win 7.
If they're anything like SP1, I would wait until Windows 8
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 05:21 PM   #105 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
I spend my life trying to avoid these things (toolbars that is) so I'll either put up with it (WOT blocks them anyway) or I'll look for another solution
I just tested it and the popup doesn't happen with Iron 11.
__________________
garth
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 05:34 PM   #106 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
I just tested it and the popup doesn't happen with Iron 11.
Thanks for the update
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 05:37 PM   #107 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Thanks for the update
Oops my mistake...the popup does still happen once scripts are allowed.
__________________
garth
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 06:15 PM   #108 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
If they're anything like SP1, I would wait until Windows 8

Advice taken and appreciated.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 07:28 PM   #109 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyDollar View Post
I've never had any problems with Win7 sp1.
Mine were just network related but annoying when you keep losing your connection.

From what I could tell, several firewalls were affected (apart from Windows of course ) PC Tools released I think at least two driver updates before they managed to fix it.

This could well have been system specific too, depending on what make/type of network card you had installed. I have a wireless which is pretty meaningless since power surges on the internet cables here keep blowing the routers, so now I'm having to do without one. I also installed the make best recommended by my tech for Linux which I was using at the time I guess for the cost of a few beers I should change it back again for something else. That said I changed ISP two weeks ago so I might risk a new router to see if their net is more stable and less prone to external power influences. The problem here as I've said before is that the cables are all overground and strung together like Christmas decorations. A mains surge or lightening strike always seems to find its way into all the cable networks at which point, bye, bye, Belkin
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. May 2011, 07:55 PM   #110 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Response from Netgate is that they would like to synchronize this but it will be difficult because they've already made so many changes to create BlackHawk, and there is no source available for Iron.
That's one thing I've been wondering about BH, how often they'll update it. All these Chromium browsers update but some take much longer than others to get around to it. Suppose it depends on how much resources each one has to throw at it, so one or two will lag behind the others. I updated to the latest Iron, can't really tell if it's any quicker, but I still get the popups. Not to worry though, they still run light and snappy so I'll stick with them.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2