Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > I Want a Freeware Program that ...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03. Apr 2009, 05:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,484
Default router port disable

freeware program to kill ports on my wireless router
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2009, 05:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,484
Default

better yet how do I nuke the boys internet from my desktop?
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2009, 09:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Foundation Editor
 
chris.p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,629
Default

You're talking about stopping the kids taking all the bandwidth for WoW and stuff? If so, we can do a talkthru on blocking ports, via the router admin.

...and many routers allow you to do this by time periods, eg no WoW 6pm - 9pm or something.
__________________
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Web Business Management
chris.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2009, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,484
Default Thanks Chris.P

I just got a cisco wireless router and a usb adapter for my ten years olds computer. This way he can play his club penguin so I can get real stuff done like
PokerTH (a free and really cool online texas holdem game) hehe

This router works great.....should of got one a year ago. I also like that added layer of protection a router provides.

I am using DSL and its pretty fast but it has its limits.
I been reading through the manual and it appears I can limit bandwidth to his port/channel. I think. this will take some trial and error until I can reach a happy medium.

I can tell, you have experience with routers by reading your posts.
I have shielded wireless access to just our two computers.
I activated the routers firewall.

Question? Do we both need third party firewalls? I am still using my sunbelt personal firewall. I installed AVG internet security suite on his machine which has a built in firewall with anti virus (paid version)

Just a note: his machine is windows vista 32bit. I have winxp sp3

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 03. Apr 2009 at 05:06 PM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Apr 2009, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Foundation Editor/Forum Manager Intern
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,136
Default

Quote:
Question? Do we both need third party firewalls? I am still using my sunbelt personal firewall. I installed AVG internet security suite on his machine which has a built in firewall with anti virus (paid version)
While some might disagree, I suspect that most of the people on here would say that you definitely need a software firewall in addition to your hardware/router firewall. The main reason is for outbound protection, i.e. "phoning home".

In addition, most newer firewalls include some type of HIPS or behavior blocking that adds another layer to your security. Feel free to check out our firewall page and read the comments (http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-firewall.htm) or check out Wilder's Security Forums.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2