Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16. Mar 2012, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Question Win 7 and connecting to WPA problem

I am trying to determine the specific problem preventing me from connecting to a WPA wireless network.

I have an HP running Win 7 which connects to WPA networks except for one recently. After searching online I have found this is not uncommon. Connecting to WEP works, but WPA is only detected, and a password can be entered but it does not connect.

After contacting D-Link and verifying settings, I came across the following advice online which worked last night:

1. Enter your wireless router setup page using a computer that is hardwired to your router.
2. Go to your Wi-fi protected setup options and disable Wi-fi protected setup (WPS). Apply this change.
3. Go to your wireless security settings and select your desired WPA or WPA2 security mode and your desired password (psk). Apply this change.
4. Go to your Channel and SSID settings tab and RENAME YOUR SSID. Apply this change.
5. Now view your wireless networks on your upgraded Windows 7 machine.
6. Select the newly named network.
7. Select "connect" and enter your new passkey/password. not sure why renaming the SSID corrected the problem, but it worked and had nothing to do with the drivers nor my HP machine. I really hope this helps many of you out there."


After using this procedure it worked, however this morning I am encountering the same problem again (computer shuts down overnight).
Can anyone explain this, and what needs to be done to solve it?

Thank you
iwanturCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Mar 2012, 03:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanturCAT View Post
I am trying to determine the specific problem preventing me from connecting to a WPA wireless network.

I have an HP running Win 7 which connects to WPA networks except for one recently. After searching online I have found this is not uncommon. Connecting to WEP works, but WPA is only detected, and a password can be entered but it does not connect.

After contacting D-Link and verifying settings, I came across the following advice online which worked last night:

1. Enter your wireless router setup page using a computer that is hardwired to your router.
2. Go to your Wi-fi protected setup options and disable Wi-fi protected setup (WPS). Apply this change.
3. Go to your wireless security settings and select your desired WPA or WPA2 security mode and your desired password (psk). Apply this change.
4. Go to your Channel and SSID settings tab and RENAME YOUR SSID. Apply this change.
5. Now view your wireless networks on your upgraded Windows 7 machine.
6. Select the newly named network.
7. Select "connect" and enter your new passkey/password. not sure why renaming the SSID corrected the problem, but it worked and had nothing to do with the drivers nor my HP machine. I really hope this helps many of you out there."


After using this procedure it worked, however this morning I am encountering the same problem again (computer shuts down overnight).
Can anyone explain this, and what needs to be done to solve it?

Thank you
I'm wondering a couple things:

- The connection priority of your WiFi lists has the correct one in first place? Options as "connect to this network when available"
- "Remember password" is also checked

- I think you should try disabling password protection in router and try if it works. If it does, you can set MAC authentication temporary as your protection mechanism while fixing the problem.



Anyway you can adjust power options in control panel and set current power plan to not shut down HDD. Also power plan or network card, can shut down the connection in pro of power efficiency. Tale this advice as only a temporary solution, if you are trying to download a large file which requires connection to remain active as example.

Also, this is true, is not an uncommon problem. Several times it's firmware related depending of model. Upgrading firmware is always a good option and you can do it using a secure utility for that purpose such the one which comes with you router. You can find it in configuration page of you router.
Also updating wireless drivers can help resolve issue.
__________________
You call destiny to the future you can't control.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Mar 2012, 01:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

The connection priority was first except when connected by ethernet cable – I made the wireless connection priority over this one, ran the troubleshooter again, and changed the network from Public to Home network.
I also contacted D-Link again and there is a firmware update to be installed, but without doing this, after 2 hours it connected on its own. Will see if it still works after shutting it down later; Still unsure what the the specific problem is
iwanturCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Mar 2012, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 394
Default

Ok, very good. If you see problems persists you can take a look at this Microsoft thread . There you can find some helpful info and steps to troubleshoot issues.
__________________
You call destiny to the future you can't control.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Mar 2012, 02:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Question ...

It worked for about several hours but we had to reset the router by unplugging it (b/c this lets buddy with the old XP laptop reconnect and at that point we lost the connection). Couldn't get it back so we upgraded the d-link firmware from 3.12 to 3.13. Now none of computers will connect, even though they detect the network; called their tech support and tried their procedures to no avail.

Stranger still is when the ethernet cable is connected directly from laptop to modem it still does not connect, but the other apt. (using mac) connected to the other modem port hasn't had any problem.
We're going to switch the cables in the back of the modem to see the effect.
Thanks for the forum links, I'm still combing through them.
Will update as I learn more
iwanturCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Mar 2012, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 394
Default

OK, I hope you quickly resolve the problem. Also look at D-Link if there's additional WiFi drivers available. It's a Windows 7 related issue.
Keep us up to date. We'll try to help as much as we can.
__________________
You call destiny to the future you can't control.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2012, 06:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you for the forum links - I've read several others (including http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...=1332260885223 )
as well and there doesn't seem to be a consistent solution - but Win 7 is consistently involved. Many people have had success removing McAfree; some updating drivers;

I called D-Link today and hardwired my computer to the router at the modem; we troubleshot for 2 hours; then reset to factory defaults and it worked; reassembled everything upstairs and it worked - but the mac downstairs disconnected - so we unplugged the modem and reconnected the mac and it's been working for the last 4 hours. Seems fixed will find out if it lasts a few days. It seems the process of adjusting the settings causes some communication to occur which enables the connection. Still unsure.

We have a modem --> hub splits to --> mac router for mac wireless downstairs, and D-link for XP & Win 7 upstairs
The ISP said this split is unnecessary and may be a cause of problems, so if there's another problem I think running off 1 modem so we don't need the hub may help. I'm not even sure why they have this setup in the first place.
Thank you for all your help and I'll post more if I find it.
iwanturCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2012, 06:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanturCAT View Post
Thank you for the forum links - I've read several others (including http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...=1332260885223 )
as well and there doesn't seem to be a consistent solution - but Win 7 is consistently involved. Many people have had success removing McAfree; some updating drivers;

I called D-Link today and hardwired my computer to the router at the modem; we troubleshot for 2 hours; then reset to factory defaults and it worked; reassembled everything upstairs and it worked - but the mac downstairs disconnected - so we unplugged the modem and reconnected the mac and it's been working for the last 4 hours. Seems fixed will find out if it lasts a few days. It seems the process of adjusting the settings causes some communication to occur which enables the connection. Still unsure.

We have a modem --> hub splits to --> mac router for mac wireless downstairs, and D-link for XP & Win 7 upstairs
The ISP said this split is unnecessary and may be a cause of problems, so if there's another problem I think running off 1 modem so we don't need the hub may help. I'm not even sure why they have this setup in the first place.
Thank you for all your help and I'll post more if I find it.
Setup is OK.
I missed something important :
some time ago I was experiencing some problems connecting to WiFi hotspot in building apartment where I was staying. Similar problem we have here. After asking the owner of the building for his permission, I checked everything and found nothing , went to sleep... 5 minutes later I jumped off my bed screaming is the wire, is the wire! 1 day later WiFi was working perfect

So, I hope my experience help somebody future people ins this thread.

Check the wires ;-)




Hey BTW totally off-topic what da... means your name? I told you a story hope you have one
__________________
You call destiny to the future you can't control.

Last edited by 4goTTen21; 21. Mar 2012 at 06:51 AM.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2