![]() |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
|
Hi,
I tried to download Edit Pad Lite from jgsoft.com and got a "Harmful Web Site Blocked" message from F Secure, which my internet provider supplies. I tried to download the same software in several of the many languages listed without the Site Block message being displayed. Could I download the file and check with other virus checkers? Should I contact the software manufacturer? Should I go back to F Secure? Any comments on my idea and is their anything else I could do. Thank you |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Site Manager
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 9,250
|
IMO in the race to outdo their competitors in terms of "detection" many vendors are racking up their sensitivity levels. Inevitably this leads to an increased incidence of false positives. The vendors web site is green rated with WOT and not blocked by Comodo which I currently use for my own searches. I downloaded the file from the vendors site and scanned it at VirusTotal and the hit rate was 0/43
__________________
Knows nothing and cares even less |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|