Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24. May 2012, 04:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Question How do I find an open port for Vuze?

I've been using Vuze for awhile with no problems until last week when it jut stopped downloading anything. Someone I know suggested a reset which I did. Oops. Now I keep getting "NAT Error - Connect attempt to ******:6881 (your computer) timed out after 20 seconds. This means your port is probably closed."

Okay, I know I need to find an open port and I know I need to use the 49152 – 65535 range. But how do I find a port number without going through the thousands of permutations available? One at a time just seems inefficient.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 24. May 2012 at 06:23 AM. Reason: IP address removed. By posting this in public you invite being hacked unless the address is dynamic :)
MikiSunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. May 2012, 05:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Odinbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Metro Vancouver, BC
Posts: 80
Default

Have you looked here?
http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...vuze-speed.htm
Odinbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. May 2012, 05:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Odinbc,

Yes, I read the info there yesterday. It just says to choose a proper port. But with over 16,000 possible ports in the suggested range, checking each port, one by one, will take a long, long time. Time I can't take checking each one individually. Which is why I asked here if there is an easier way to find an open port number without having to spend my time so inefficiently.
MikiSunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. May 2012, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 424
Default

The article (written by me) does not "just" say to choose a port in that range.

There are instructions on forwarding the port by setting exceptions in any firewall, software or hardware (router), on your system.

No port is "open" until you make it open by setting exception in any firewall(s) on your system. Any firewall will block communications from Vuze (as the firewall should) unless permission is given for those communications to go through.

Choosing a port in that range is advised because no other programs use those ports and conflicts are avoided. Any port in that range is acceptable and they are all the same essentially - you have to clear it through the firewall(s) on your system though.

I see on your NAT error message that you had port 6881 as the Vuze port when testing. That port is in the range not to be used as many ISPs block those ports (as those were the default ports for bittorrent when it first came out).

If you have any trouble in setting exceptions for Vuze in your firewall(s), please post back with the name and version of any software firewall on your system and state whether you have a router or modem that you connect to the internet through & if so, what make and model.

Best thing to do is check the documentation on any firewall(s) on your system on how to port forward.
mr6n8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Oct 2012, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I am not the most computer minded person but I have been using Vuze since 2008 and this is the problem I have been having all day. I went to that link and tried some of the things that it is saying but I have a mac.. When I went to my firewall I clicked a button to allow all incoming connections and added Vuze to this list. However this didn't help because I still get the timed out message when I try new ports.. Sorry for my ignorance but please advise.

Thanks
Yatez5002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Dec 2012, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Editor
 
Juxxize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Merry Old England
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yatez5002 View Post
I am not the most computer minded person but I have been using Vuze since 2008 and this is the problem I have been having all day. I went to that link and tried some of the things that it is saying but I have a mac.. When I went to my firewall I clicked a button to allow all incoming connections and added Vuze to this list. However this didn't help because I still get the timed out message when I try new ports.. Sorry for my ignorance but please advise.

Thanks
hi, i don't know if you have resolved your issue as this post is quite old, if you post abit more information like your OS and what firewall you are using it will be easier for people to advise you. in my experience with this issue in the past as well as allowing all connections for vuze i had to create a rule for the port i had chosen to be the port i was using for in my case utorrent, i checked the port was available and not being used by another program using the method describes in http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...vuze-speed.htm and created the rule allowing the connection through the firewall all the information you need should be in the article it's just hard to get your head around if you haven't messed around with your firewall before ( as was the case with me) but i got there in the end. i also find fort forwarding hard to get my head around and also i didn't want to mess around with my firewall too much and leave myself open to attack.
__________________
I love Gizmos, it is my bible
Juxxize is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2