![]() |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
|
Hi.
Last nite I was having a look at the following site http://mike.dutch.home.comcast.net/~mike.dutch/ I got the link somewhere here at Gizmo, I can't quite remember where exactly. The very first link that I clicked on was w(DONT CLICK)w[DOT]mapelli[DOT]info/tips/ultimate-google-search-tips-guide. In the tutorials section. As soon as the page opened my antivirus detected malware so I got out of there. I checked at mywot and a comment their also said the site contained a trojan. I just wanted to let people know. Of course I don't know for sure that it is not a false positive. Last edited by Anupam; 20. Jan 2010 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Edited link |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,484
|
You are right. I use NoScript add-on for Firefox, and Avast as my antivirus.
When I opened the page with NoScript on, the page opened without any problem. When I chose NoScript to temporarily allow the scripts on the site... Avast detects problem with the site. Shows how much NoScript can help in safe browsing. Its a must for any Firefox user. Also shows Avast is a good antivirus too .Thanks for sharing this information about malware on the link. Appreciated.
__________________
Anupam |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Thanks for the heads up.
Every now and then Microsoft Word goes bonkers and swaps the links. For example, link1 goes down a few table entries. It's quite a hastle to fix (have to redo the entire web page) so I don't do it very often. You can always get to the right link by cut & paste. I've had a few issues where some links have gone "bad" over time. This means that what used to be valid websites may no longer be valid. I try to delete these so please continue letting me know of any infected links. Thanks, Mike |
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) | |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
|
Quote:
I like taking out malware, so I went to take a look - Firefox went nuts, warning me that mapelli was a known attack site. I allowed it anyway (NoScript's protecting me) and looked at the page source; I found a nice piece of obfuscated JavaScript. JSUnpack shows that that piece of JS is calling a script on a Chinese domain, hxxp[COLON]//tdscounter[DOT]cn/phpbb/index.php. I went directly to tdscounter and got another "Known attack site" warning; this time, I decided to let Sandboxie and Opera handle it (I'd use Fx, but Sandboxie & Firefox don't play well with ContentWatch). I went to mapelli again, this time in a sandboxed Opera session, and Microsoft Forefront Client Security went nuts - "Exploit:Win32/Pdfjsc.CR detected". tdscounter is apparently pushing a drive-by download; I'm OK thanks to NoScript and Sandboxie (ironically, MFCS is going to be more a pain than anything else, since it locks the infected file so I can't analyze it), but anybody who visited will definitely want to run a full-system virus scan. Cheers! Last edited by Anupam; 20. Jan 2010 at 04:01 PM. Reason: Edited link |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
|
EDIT: ok, let's try this again. Apparently my last post went into the moderation queue, so I'll post a quick summary here.
The mapelli site is definitely infected. Firefox warns it's an attack site; a look at its source code reveals some nicely-obfuscated JavaScript. I deobfuscated the JS; it's coming from a Chinese site. Microsoft Forefront Client Security, my antivirus program, caught a drive-by download. I was running in a sandbox, though, so it can't hurt me. That's probably a good enough summary for now; there was more detail in my original post, but I'm sure that original post will show up here shortly. Anyway, I just got a look at the infected file - it's a malicious PDF. There's been a lot of those going around lately... I'll drop this off at the SANS Internet Storm Center; in the meantime, for anyone who stumbled into this site, better run your virus scanner. Last edited by computerfreaker; 19. Jan 2010 at 04:01 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
|
yep, that was an infected PDF all right, and a whole lot more.
Here's the reply I just got from SANS: Quote:
Can't say this enough: run at least a couple of good virus scanners, such as MalwareBytes Anti-Malware. Nice catch, zanzizzi. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,484
|
Thanks for the detailed info computerfreaker. That was quite some detective work
. Well, since the site in question is a known attack site, anyone using Firefox, or another good browser with anti-phishing, and likes... should be safe. Firefox does not let the link open at all. Nevertheless, its good to be aware.Mike Dutch had said in earlier post that he will look up the link and remove it, but it seems like he has not removed it yet, and the link still exists. Will have to be reminded again, so that some innocent user does not get infected.
__________________
Anupam |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | |||
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
|
Quote:
All I did was some JavaScript deobfuscating and some tracing. Quote:
Some people are bound to get hit regardless of what else happens, hence my suggestion to run an AV app or two. EDIT: sorry, the word filter ate part of my quote. Wonder what's up with that, as I didn't consider that a bad word... :S Even though Firefox blocks the link, I have to wonder how IE users will fare, especially since IE is well-known for being receptive to drive-bys. Quote:
Also, I noticed you further edited my link. How should I post such links in the future? I've always used hxxp:// in the past with no trouble, but I'm more than happy to accommodate requirements here. Cheers! computerfreaker
__________________
With great power comes great responsibility. |
|||
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | ||
|
Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 9,484
|
Quote:
Quote:
.Yes, I had edited the link further, just to be sure. Here on the forum, and site, we use [COLON] and [DOT] to kill the links, and also do not post it in a link format.
__________________
Anupam |
||
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) | ||||
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
|
Quote:
Quote:
![]() As it is, that site looks like a legit site that's been hacked; a whois returned the owner's contact info, so I've dropped him an e-mail warning him of the hack. EDIT: the site owner knows about the hack and is cleaning his site up. Quote:
EDIT 2: Just dropped the site owner a note specifying how to remove the malicious JavaScript the hacker left. With any luck, the site should be clean soon. Quote:
Cheers! computerfreaker
__________________
With great power comes great responsibility. |
||||
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|